Posted by: ceara08 | February 18, 2008

On the hunt for heirloom varieties

I love to read and learn new things. Came across some information that was very new to me and I’ve been following all sorts of web links and reading a lot online.

I’ve also been fortunate to see some old BBC gardening shows. One in particular is The Victorian Kitchen Garden. I hope to be able to see the Wartime Kitchen Garden soon. I want to see how people during wartime planted and tended their gardens all while lacking money. The Victorian Kitchen Garden series was very informative. I believed the old man when he said that the older varieties of vegetables have much more character, flavor and better growing habits than most modern cultivars.

I think I could learn a lot from the Wartime Kitchen Garden show. Considering the state of the world today, and considering our thin wallet and lack of funds, I too have to be frugal and find ways of doing things that don’t cost a lot.

So I have made a decision – to collect several types of heirloom vegetable seeds. I already have a few heirloom tomatoes thanks to a generous fellow gardener. Mortgage Lifter, Brandywine, and Purple Prince.

While everyone in our household LOVES tomatoes in just about any form, our main purpose of growing tomatoes is not to eat raw, but as an ingredient in sauce and salsa.

During my internet reading sessions, I’ve discovered much to my delight that there are other colors to choose in tomatoes. Much more variety than the seeds available in popular seed catalogs. Things like white tomatoes, yellow and orange paste tomatoes, brown tomatoes, almost black tomatoes, and even green (when ripe!) tomatoes. Have said it before and will say it again, nature is awesome!

Even though my desires for these heirloom plants are somewhat selfish (hey, gotta eat!), I realize that I will be participating in keeping the old time vegetables alive. Gardeners are always generous, and I will join the ranks of the seed guardians out there and share with others.

But in the mean time, I’m on the hunt for some heirloom seeds. Yes I realize there are seed savers clubs, but those cost money that I’m not willing to invest in at this time. I’d rather purchase from a reliable seed source that’s serious about the old plants and feel comfortable that the seeds are fresh and will perform well for me. In seed trading, you never really know what you’re going to get, whether the seed is viable or even labeled correctly.

I’ll never refuse a free offer of seeds though, or plants for that matter. If anyone out there is reading this, and has yellow paste heirloom tomato seeds sitting around, please send me some!

Leave a Reply

Categories

