Posted by: ceara08 | February 27, 2008

Bake your own bread and save some money!

Well, the shit is starting to really splatter on the fan these days.  Not full chunks, but definite spotting.

Found the following video link today.  Wheat prices are rising so fast!   And the consumer will ultimately “eat” these higher prices.  I do not watch TV at all any more, so I get all the news online and rely heavily on video and spend a few hours each day reading.  Knowledge protects and empowers everyone.  Turn off your televisions!  It’s time to get back to nature.

http://abcnews.go.com/Video/playerIndex?id=4320837

Judging by the cost of bread locally, I decided last year to begin making my own bread all the time and not just for special meals or holidays.   Two loaves of brown wheat bread (I can’t call it whole wheat because it isn’t… just another marketing gimmick) locally cost almost $5 Canadian already.  Ouch!  And in our household, bread goes awful quick.  Everything from toast, sandwiches, ingredients for other dishes, french toast and stuffing for chicken.  A loaf of bread from the store can literally disappear within 24 hours.

I also make bread dough to use as pizza dough.  Here’s my basic dough recipe that I make twice a week for various things.  I also use sourdough once in a while, but my latest batch is not turning out well because it’s winter.  Will post on that later once I get a stable mixture going.

2 cups warm water
2 tablespoons sugar
2 tablespoons oil or butter
6 cups regular all purpose flour
4 1/2 teaspoons instant yeast (either Rapid Rise or For Bread Machines)

I dump the ingredients in that order into my bread machine and set it to “dough.”  (Some models have a setting for pizza dough.)  The bread machine will mix, knead and allow the dough to rise in a closed, heated environment.  After the rising cycle is complete, I remove the dough.  What could be easier?  I do NOT use the bread machine for baking bread.  It just plain sucks.  You need to have that human element with your food.  I only use the machine because it hurts my wrists to knead a lot of dough.  Plus the cycle for dough is only like 30 minutes with the machine, but additional time is necessary to let the dough rise a 2nd time in its final form before baking.  Otherwise you end up with dense, heavy bread instead of nice, soft fluffy bread.  Bread fresh from your oven fills your home with the heavenly scent that everyone in your family will fondly remember through the years and remind them of home.  It’s feel-good food.  Maybe not the most nutritious, but hey you should enjoy your life and live, not merely exist.

There are many things you can do with that dough.  Split it in half for two regular loaves.  Split it in 4 for 4 pizzas.  Split it in half and make cinnamon buns (makes a LOT).  Separate into 24 pieces for dinner rolls.

I’m not going to cover how to shape bread dough, for there are many websites out there that will explain how to do all sorts of things.  However, I will provide some website links.

This first link is a recipe I’m trying out today.  Its No-Knead Bread.  As I type this, the dough is in it’s 2nd rising.  If it turns out well, I’ll take a photo of it to post.  It takes a long time to rise, but I feel it may be worth it.

Well, I was going to post some additional links, but have now discovered an old website is no longer online.  If you can find a cookbook with his recipes, Father Dominic does beautiful work with his bread.  I used to watch him on PBS cooking up all sorts of tasty breads.

You could always go to these other links though, and do some searching on your own.

http://www.recipesource.com/
http://www.foodnetwork.com
http://www.foodnetwork.ca

Just try a new skill, and if you don’t already, learn how to make your own bread.  And save some money!

Responses

  1. I agree on the rising food prices.I started making bread at home too.I normally use whole wheat. I like the flavor better.Thanks for the recipe.


Leave a Reply

Categories

